Sunday, December 16:

Surya Namaskara A & B, 5x. The fast may make things more difficult, but it’s really all in my mind. That’s part of the point of the fast: strengthen the mind. Mind over matter. You can do it. If you can do it while starving, you can do it while tired. If you can do it while starving and tired, you can do it all the time. Make the decision and don’t look back.

Monday, December 17:

Surya Namaskara, A & B.

TODAY I DID MY FIRST MENTOR HOUR!

Okay, I just jotted down notes from Lindsey’s Beginning Yoga class. But it was a huge step for me! I challenged my fear! I almost bailed! I CAN DO THIS!

I am confident. I can and will do this. I am doing this. I am doing this. I am doing this.

This fast is changing my life, man. Right now I am becoming convinced of so many things. So many things are coming to the surface. So much I have to love. I LOVE MYSELF! I MUST LOVE MYSELF EVEN MORE!

Right now I am a little crazy. But it’s all natural! NO GUILT! ALL NATURAL – NO ADDITIVES, NO PRESERVATIVES! Such a great album. I remember sitting in my first psychology class ever, bangin’ that CD. Okay, this should go in Journal Log!

Tuesday, December 18:

Surya Namaskara A & B, 5x. This is becoming easy. Physically, anyway. The “easier” it becomes physically, the more challenging it is mentally to stay focused, to perfect technique.

Wednesday, December 19:

Surya Namaskara A & B, 5x.

Mentally challenging. Stomach hurting throughout it all. Didn’t feel right. Didn’t want to do it. That much more important that I do.

It feels like I’m not doing enough sometimes. Often times. All the time. How can I come to grips with that? You are not perfect, Adam. Please, love yourself. Give yourself room to grow. God, grant me the serenity.

Thursday, December 20:

Surya Namaskara A & B, 5x.

Next week I decided I’ll start doing one half of the standing sequence; let’s call it standing sequence A. I’ll write down the exact names of the poses tomorrow.

I’m also going to do these first thing in the morning. No johns.

I really did not want to do the yoga today. The problem is I keep procrastinating. Do it first thing! It’s not that hard. Fortunately, I was feeling good in the middle of practice. That’s a new one!

Friday, December 21:

Sun Salutations, 5x. Don’t remember anything about them.

Saturday & Sunday, December 22 & 23:

Nothing. Not for lack of want. I almost started but then I just felt something. I don’t know if I’m being a punk about it or what. But I just don’t like the energy in this house. I don’t want to do it here.

Monday, December 24:

Wow, two days without yoga felt like an eternity!

Sun Salutations, 5x each; Padangusthasana; Utthitha Trikonasana; Uttitha Parsvakonasana; Parivritta Parsvakonasana.

Okay, I’m going to separate the Standing Sequence into 3 parts: A, B and C. This is A:

Padangusthasana:

Pada = Foot   Angustha = Big Toe “Foot Big Toe Posture”

Padahastasana:

Pada = Foot  Hasta = Hand “Foot to Hand Posture”

Uttita Trikonasana:

Utthita = Extended   Tri = Three  Kona = Angle “Extended Triangle Posture”

Parivritta Trikonasana:

Parivritta = Revolved  Tri = Three  Kona = Angle “Revolved Triangle Posture

Utthita Parsvakonasana:

Utthita = Extended  Parsva = Side   Kona = Angle “Extended Side Angle Posture

Parivritta Parsavokonasana:

Parivritta = Revolved  Parsva = Side  Kona = Angle “Revolved Side Angle Posture”

Part B will be the Prasarita (spread out) Pada (foot) Uttana (intense stretch) Asana (prasarita padottanasana) A, B, C and D, as well as Parsvottanasana (Parsva = Side; Uttana = Intense Stretch).

Part C will be the balancing poses, as well as ardha baddha, chair pose, and the warrior A & B poses.

Every 10 days I will add another chunk of the series.

Today I thought I was doing Part A, but upon checking the book I realize I forgot a few poses.

I feel so much better! This practice really is my rock. Chunk it, baby. Do a little at a time, every day, without fail. With this, all the other pieces of my life coalesce. Feels good man.

I am really glad I am taking my time with this and not just jumping in, attempting to do the whole primary series every day. Practicing in a studio and practicing on your own is totally different. Self-practice is the real essence. I feel intimate growth and exploration. There’s nothing like it!

Tuesday, December 25:

Surya Namaskara, A & B. Padangusthasana, Padahastasana, Uttita Trikonasana, Parivritta Trikonasana, Utthita Parsvakonasana, Parivritta Parsvakonasana. It’s a handful — literally! — to type out the names of those poses, but it must be done. I want to learn them intimately. Memorize them. Embed them within my neuronal circuitry.

I did not feel like practicing, but so what? I just did it. And it felt good. I’m really becoming comfortable with where my practice lies. The last pose, Parivritta Parsvakonasana, is one I’m still a bit uncomfortable with.

I’m still doing them late afternoon. I have to accept and love where I’m at with that right now. No biggie. Nothing is good or bad, but thinking makes it so.

It’s a bit of a rough spot, though, from my “usual.” I’m not meditating as often as I’d prefer, either. But once a day is still good. Be fluid, Adam. Flexible. Wherever you are, you are. Every day is new. Every session is new. Love it, learn to live it. Then give you my exhibit.

Full moon on December 28, so no practice that day. That’s Friday. So I’ll just lift and probably bike the stationary.

Wednesday, December 26:

Nothing. Sigh.

Thursday, December 27:

Surya Namaskara, A & B. Padangusthasana, Padahastasana, Uttita Trikonasana, Parivritta Trikonasana, Utthita Parsvakonasana, Parivritta Parsvakonasana. Did two of them in the wrong order.

Friday, December 28:

Full Moon

Saturday, December 29:

Surya Namaskara, A & B. Padangusthasana, Padahastasana, Uttita Trikonasana, Parivritta Trikonasana, Utthita Parsvakonasana, Parivritta Parsvakonasana.

Done in the AM! 9 AM. Slow and steady wins the race.

Sunday, December 30:

Surya Namaskara, A & B. Padangusthasana, Padahastasana, Uttita Trikonasana, Parivritta Trikonasana, Utthita Parsvakonasana, Parivritta Parsvakonasana.

Not done in the AM.

Monday, December 31:

Surya Namaskara, A & B. Padangusthasana, Padahastasana, Uttita Trikonasana, Parivritta Trikonasana, Utthita Parsvakonasana, Parivritta Parsvakonasana.

Done in the AM! Weeee!

I realized I’ve been rushing through the Sun Salutations. Breathed more deeply, allowing my breath to dictate the length of the pose. Added about 10 minutes. Was more challenging but more rewarding.

