January 1, Tuesday:

Surya Namaskara, A & B 5x. Padangusthasana, Padahastasana, Uttita Trikonasana, Parivritta Trikonasana, Utthita Parsvakonasana, Parivritta Parsvakonasana.

This is the sixth day I’ve done the ‘Part A’ sequence. So on Sunday I’ll incorporate ‘Part B,’ too, which will be Prasarita (spread out) Padottanasana (foot + intense stretch) A, B, C, D, as well as Parsvottanasana (Parsva = Side; Uttana = Intense Stretch).

I feel like I’m starting to get into the swing of things again. Deep, controlled breaths. Exploring the ins and outs of every pose. Very glad I’m taking my time. Started around 11:50 AM today. Slowly but surely practicing earlier.

January 2, Wednesday:

Surya Namaskara, A & B 5x. Padangusthasana, Padahastasana, Uttita Trikonasana, Parivritta Trikonasana, Utthita Parsvakonasana, Parivritta Parsvakonasana.

Seventh day.

Second or third consecutive day I’ve messed up the order. I’ve been doing Utthita Parsvakonasana before Parivritta Trikonasana.

In The Development of the Personality, Greene & Sasportas talk about the blending of different parts of our astrological personality. For example, Cancer is a Water sign that is very sensitive and concerned with love. Sagittarius or Leo are fire signs concerned with change and willpower. Everyone has different parts, or subpersonalities, within them. To frame my yoga practice I have begun telling myself, Okay, willpower side, this is your time to shine.

Just do it.

I didn’t sweat very much today.

January 3, Thursday:

Surya Namaskara, A & B 5x. Padangusthasana, Padahastasana, Uttita Trikonasana, Parivritta Trikonasana, Utthita Parsvakonasana, Parivritta Parsvakonasana.

January 4, Friday:

Surya Namaskara, A & B 5x. Padangusthasana, Padahastasana, Uttita Trikonasana, Parivritta Trikonasana, Utthita Parsvakonasana, Parivritta Parsvakonasana.

Parivritta Parsvakonasana is still awkward.

I feel improvement with holding the root bandha.

Paid attention to the time before/after today and it took about 35 minutes.

January 5, Saturday:

Surya Namaskara, A & B 5x. Padangusthasana, Padahastasana, Uttita Trikonasana, Parivritta Trikonasana, Utthita Parsvakonasana, Parivritta Parsvakonasana.

Dem bandhas!

January 6, Sunday:

Surya Namaskara, A & B 5x. Padangusthasana, Padahastasana, Uttita Trikonasana, Parivritta Trikonasana, Utthita Parsvakonasana, Parivritta Parsvakonasana, Prasarita Padottanasana A, B, C, D.

First day of incorporating Standing Sequence B. Forgot I was also supposed to do Parsvottanasana.

Felt good all things considered. Prasarita always kicks my ass. It’s the feet, man. Weight evenly distributed throughout the feet. Quads flexed. Bandhas engaged. Tailbone tucked. Deep breaths. On the exhale lengthening a little bit more, on the inhale slowing and deepening your breath. Tough work.

January 7, Monday:

Surya Namaskara, A & B 5x. Padangusthasana, Padahastasana, Uttita Trikonasana, Parivritta Trikonasana, Utthita Parsvakonasana, Parivritta Parsvakonasana, Prasarita Padottanasana A, B, C, D and Parsvottanasana.

Ahhhh. Felt good!

Sure, that initial reluctance still exists, but I pay it no mind. I practiced at 7 AM today. I’m going to practice at 7 (at the latest) all this week, since next week is school, and I think my math class is at 7, so I’m gonna need to be up at 5 to practice beforehand anyway.

I felt a little tight but I powered through it. I am just really happy with my progress. Hard work is paying off. Little by little I am becoming better, more disciplined, more relaxed, creating more space, feeling better, more stable, more focused. The benefits are seemingly endless! And I’m still so new!

Friday is a New Moon, so I’ll take that day to eschew practice and to fast.

Om.

