There are 12 Sun Signs of the Zodiac, beginning in spring with Aries.

Sun Signs are grouped by the four elements: fire, earth, air and water. There are certain attributes to each sign: cardinal (leaders), fixed (organizers) and mutable (communicators), as well as positive (masculine; aggressive, dynamic idealists) and negative (feminine; secretive, reflective strategists).

Fire

Aries: The Infant

“I am”

March 20th into April 20th

Ruler: Mars

Symbol: The Ram

Positive-Masculine-Cardinal

Leo: The Teenager

“I will”

July 22nd into August 23rd

Ruler: The Sun

Symbol: Lion & Shy Pussycat

Fire-Positive-Masculine-Fixed

Sagittarius: Knowledge

“I see”

November 22nd into December 21st

Ruler: Jupiter

Symbol: Archer & Centaur

Fire-Positive-Masculine-Mutable

Earth

Taurus: The baby

“I have”

April 20th into May 21st

Ruler: Venus

Symbol: The Bull

Earth-Negative-Feminine-Fixed

Virgo: The adult

“I analyze”

August 23rd into September 23rd

Ruler: Mercury

Symbol: The Virgin

Earth-Negative-Feminine-Mutable

Capricorn: Experience

“I use”

December 21st into January 20th

Ruler: Saturn

Symbol: The Goat

Earth-Negative-Feminine-Cardinal

Air

Gemini: The child

“I think”

May 21st into June 21st

Ruler: Mercury

Symbol: The Twins

Air-Positive-Masculine-Mutable

Libra: Marriage

“I balance”

September 23rd into October 23rd

Ruler: Venus

Symbol: The Scales

Air-Positive-Masculine-Cardinal

Aquarius: Idealism

“I know”

January 20th into February 19th

Ruler: Uranus

Symbol: The Water Bearer

Air-Positive-Masculine-Fixed

Water

Cancer: The adolescent

“I feel”

June 21st into July 22nd

Ruler: The Moon

Symbol: The Crab

Water-Negative-Feminine-Cardinal

Scorpio: Sex

“I desire”

October 23rd into November 22nd

Ruler: Pluto

Symbol: Scorpion & Eagle

Water-Negative-Feminine-Fixed

Pisces: Submission

“I believe”

February 19th into March 20th

Ruler: Neptune

Symbol: The Fish

Water-Negative-Feminine-Mutable

Excerpted from Linda Goodman’s Love Signs, published in 1978 by Harper & Row, Publishers. Copyright by Mannitou Enterprises Unlimited, Inc.

