January 14, Monday:

Surya Namaskara, A & B 5x

Padangusthasana, Padahastasana

Uttita Trikonasana, Parivritta Trikonasana

Utthita Parsvakonasana, Parivritta Parsvakonasana

Prasarita Padottanasana A, B, C, D and Parsvottanasana.

Particularly uncomfortable practice at the beginning. Tired, waking up even earlier. Colder. The earlier I wake up the colder it is. So the body is very stiff.

But after the first 5 Namaskara A’s, moving on to B, I feel better. Not quite good. But ready to put some oomph into it.

On Thursday I add the Balancing Sequence. Lord knows I need it. Balance. Very much looking forward to it. Should be getting up by 4:30 by then.

Namaste.

January 15, Tuesday:

Surya Namaskara, A & B 5x

Padangusthasana, Padahastasana

Uttita Trikonasana, Parivritta Trikonasana

Utthita Parsvakonasana, Parivritta Parsvakonasana

Prasarita Padottanasana A, B, C, D and Parsvottanasana.

Jeez, the past two days have been very challenging.

One day at a time. The trick is to not look forward to the future. Every day is hard enough as it is.

January 16, Wednesday:

Surya Namaskara, A & B 5x

Padangusthasana, Padahastasana

Uttita Trikonasana, Parivritta Trikonasana

Utthita Parsvakonasana, Parivritta Parsvakonasana

Prasarita Padottanasana A, B, C, D and Parsvottanasana.

Very strong practice today. There really is no rhyme or reason (at least none I can tell heretofore) as to the quality of my practice. The past two days sucked, so I was worried it was just gonna start sucking, but nope, right from the start I felt pretty good. Was sweating like I normally sweat: profusely. Feels like my feet have strengthened dramatically in the 10 days I’ve been doing the Prasaritas. Interesting, and impressive, considering I was doing yoga for six weeks straight and the Prasaritas always kicked my ass.

They still do, of course, but I feel my ass kicked after I do them, not before. I feel like I can put most of my all into each one. The last one, D, usually feels like torture, but now I feel like I can work through the torture.

Tomorrow we add the balancing sequence! And the warrior poses! And that’s all of standing sequence!

January 17, Thursday:

Surya Namaskara A & B, 5x

Padangusthasana; Padahastasana

Uttita Trikonasana; Parivritta Trikonasana

Utthita Parsvakonasana; Parivritta Parsvakonasana

Prasarita Padottanasana A, B, C, D;  Parsvottanasana.

Uttita Hasta Padangusthasana A, B, C, D; Ardha Baddha Padmottanasana

Utkatasana; Virabhadrasana A & B

 

I don’t feel like busting out the book and writing down the names of the poses right now; I’ll do it tomorrow.

I am particularly proud — well, I dislike that word, but do not have a suitable replacement yet — of myself this practice! Did not want to do it, not because of anything to do with avoiding yoga, but because I really did not want to go to work release and just allowed that to cloud my mood.

But it doesn’t matter! (c) The Rock. Just do it. And it was done.

My balancing is off. I remember being a lot better at it during the studio. Oh well! Every practice is unique. Every practice dies a unique death every day. Try not to compare, Adam. Tsk tsk!

I am going to stick with this for 15 days instead of the usual 10. Just feels right.

I am ecstatic to be near the Primary Series! I am a big fan of most of the poses in the Primary Series. Most. There are some absurdly tough ones. But handstands!

January 18, Friday:

Surya Namaskara A & B, 5x

Padangusthasana; Padahastasana

Uttita Trikonasana; Parivritta Trikonasana

Utthita Parsvakonasana; Parivritta Parsvakonasana

Prasarita Padottanasana A, B, C, D;  Parsvottanasana.

Uttita Hasta Padangusthasana A, B, C, D; Ardha Baddha Padmottanasana

Utkatasana; Virabhadrasana A & B

 

Got to sleep in today since my first class is at 9 AM. Got a lot of sleep since I went to sleep about 30 minutes early, too. I didn’t get up until 5:20 today. About 10 hours of sleep!

So I felt pretty good. Practice was challenging, and I didn’t really feel into it until Uttita Trikonasana. Balancing poses are difficult. And I thought the Prasaritas were hard on my feet! Man, all of these standing poses really  strengthen and lengthen your legs and feet.

January 19, Saturday:

None

January 20, Sunday:

Surya Namaskara A & B, 5x

Padangusthasana; Padahastasana

Uttita Trikonasana; Parivritta Trikonasana

Utthita Parsvakonasana; Parivritta Parsvakonasana

Prasarita Padottanasana A, B, C, D;  Parsvottanasana.

Uttita Hasta Padangusthasana A, B, C, D; Ardha Baddha Padmottanasana

Utkatasana; Virabhadrasana A & B

I was beating myself up for not practicing yesterday, but now I feel it was the best thing that could happen to me. I got to recharge my batteries and gain some perspective at how far along my practice has come.

Adding these eight poses is a significant jump. I initially underrated it. The practice has become much more challenging!

I was sweating like I haven’t sweated since I was in the studio!

A challenging practice makes for a rewarding practice. I felt very cleansed afterwards, very relaxed. Love yourself, Adam. This is not easy. Take time to bathe in the sense of accomplishment you are creating each and every day.

