January 21, Monday:

Surya Namaskara A & B, 5x

Padangusthasana; Padahastasana

Uttita Trikonasana; Parivritta Trikonasana

Utthita Parsvakonasana; Parivritta Parsvakonasana

Prasarita Padottanasana A, B, C, D;  Parsvottanasana.

Uttita Hasta Padangusthasana A, B, C, D; Ardha Baddha Padmottanasana

Utkatasana; Virabhadrasana A & B

I am capable of more than I think I am.

Every day is critical. The more I think about how challenging it is, the more I psyche myself out. Just do it. Just do it. Just do it.

Felt a million times better on the balancing poses today. Absolutely huge difference!

The fact of the matter is that nothing makes me feel as good as my practice does. Nothing. Keep working hard. Find comfort in the uncomfortableness.

Today was the fourth day of the balancing sequence. 11 more to go. Full Moon on Sunday.

January 22, Tuesday:

Surya Namaskara A & B, 5x

Padangusthasana; Padahastasana

Uttita Trikonasana; Parivritta Trikonasana

Utthita Parsvakonasana; Parivritta Parsvakonasana

Prasarita Padottanasana A, B, C, D;  Parsvottanasana.

Uttita Hasta Padangusthasana A, B, C, D; Ardha Baddha Padmottanasana

Utkatasana; Virabhadrasana A & B

Feels like a definitive moment in my practice. Almost wrote that yesterday; felt the same way today.

I always feel like I want to write more about the practice, but then I get here and I don’t feel like there’s much to say. It is 99 percent practice, 1 percent theory. Put in the work. I see the fruits in everything I do. It makes me want to do more, push forward. I project in the future and can’t wait to see what I become. But that’s self-defeating. Practice. Practice. Practice. Simple as that.

January 23, Wednesday:

Surya Namaskara A & B, 5x

Padangusthasana; Padahastasana

Uttita Trikonasana; Parivritta Trikonasana

Utthita Parsvakonasana; Parivritta Parsvakonasana

Prasarita Padottanasana A, B, C, D;  Parsvottanasana.

Uttita Hasta Padangusthasana A, B, C, D; Ardha Baddha Padmottanasana

Utkatasana; Virabhadrasana A & B

Another key sign of progress. Woke up inexplicably at 1 AM. Instead of worrying about “four AM, four AM, what’s gonna happen at four AM?!” I decided to turn insomnia into something productive and practiced at 2 AM, attacking it with my prototypical fire. Slightly under the weather, scratchy sore throat and all.

Brian helped serve as inspiration. We IMed yesterday and he said he was sick. I said eff sickness; it’s all in your head. He said he played four hours of tennis. LOL!

A moment I kept referring back to was when I practiced at Liberation Yoga that one time. I was in the midst of my tremendous Ujjayi breath, and the white buff dude, the apprentice, came by and said to me: “There is a fire within you!”

It’s true, it’s true, it’s damn true. There is a tremendous fire within me that comes out every time I practice. No matter my thoughts, my mood, my intentions, when I practice, my breath is deep, my body warms, and I am soon ablaze. It is a beautiful thing.

It started as a spark. It lit aflame into an ember. It transitioned into a glow, and is now a tiny, scalding white-hot blue flame. Every day it grows, little by little. I can feel it.

January 24, Thursday:

None.

Woke up, feeling a little sicker than yesterday. Also very tired. Walked to the Meditation Room. Almost began. Then I turned around and went back to sleep.

Not sure why. Just a feeling.

I think today is the fourth day I’ve missed (excluding new/full moons) since I began, which was December 7th. So So this is Week 7. So that’s about one missed day every two weeks.

Pretty good considering it’s the establishment of a new routine. And I know it won’t become a pattern. I must take it in stride. After Friday and Saturday, that’ll be eight days of the added poses.  So next-next Monday, the 4th, I add in the first poses of the Primary Series.

January 25, Friday:

None so far.

I woke up and pretty much the same thing as yesterday happened.

But I could’ve, and should’ve, and will, practiced. What’s it called when the words you’re using don’t all match? Could’ve and should’ve match, but will doesn’t, resulting in poor English. I learned that in my first college English class, and was amazed I never ran into it before.

Anyway, I feel so shitty. There’s no way I can go through another day of not practicing. It’s all I think about.

I am officially addicted to yoga.

I’m going to lift w/ Nate at 3:30 and then practice right after that. I won’t be on the computer for the rest of the day after that, so I’ll blog about it in tomorrow’s entry.

Edit: Okay, I didn’t practice. Lol. To be fair, I actually have had a cold today and yesterday. So no biggie. Nothing wrong with not practicing while sick. I wasn’t sure if it was allergies or a cold, or psychosomatic even… but Nathaniel caught the same bug, and he said the same cold’s been going around. Makes sense.

January 26, Saturday:

Surya Namaskara A & B, 5x

Padangusthasana; Padahastasana

Uttita Trikonasana; Parivritta Trikonasana

Utthita Parsvakonasana; Parivritta Parsvakonasana

Prasarita Padottanasana A, B, C, D;  Parsvottanasana.

Uttita Hasta Padangusthasana A, B, C, D; Ardha Baddha Padmottanasana

Utkatasana; Virabhadrasana A & B

Challenging as hell. I feel a whole lot better, getting over this cold, but I was out of breath in the middle of the Namaskara B’s. I only did 4x of the second one.

I was sweating like a pig! Absolutely soaked. The mat was on the verge of becoming a health hazard. Also was extra tight due to lifting on Friday.

But I did it. And I felt amazing afterwards! Whew.

Tomorrow’s a scheduled day off. Also fasting. Full moon, baby!

January 27, Sunday:

Full Moon.

