Bhakti: Love of God

Bhakta: Follower of path of bhakti

Bhaktiyoga: The path of devotion

Brahmā: God of Creation

Vishnu: God of Preservation

Śiva: God of Destruction

Brahmāchari: a religious student devoted to the practice of spiritual discipline (celibate)

Chit: consciousness

Chitta: mind-stuff

Deva: (Lit: shining one) A god

Dharma: Righteousness; loosely used to mean “duty”

“Englishman”: Referring to men educated in English schools or influenced by European ideas

Moksha: liberation

Sannyās: The monastic life

Guna: Samkhya philosophy; Prakriti (Nature or matter) consists of 3 gunas (qualities) known as sattva, rajas and tamas.

Tamas: inertia or dullness

Rajas: activity or restlessness

Sattva: balance or righteousness

Jiva: an ordinary man

Jivanmukti: One liberated from maya while living in the body

Jñāna: Knowledge of God arrived at through reasoning and discrimination

Jñānayoga: Path of knowledge, consisting of discrimination, renunciation and other disciplines

Jñāni:  One who follows path of knowledge & discrimination to realize God

Kālī:  A name of the Divine Mother

Kaliyuga: (Not to be confused with Kālī) One of the four cycles the world goes through; Lit: “age of the demon/vice”

Kāminikānchan:  Women and gold

Kapila: Sage; author of Samkhya philosophy

Karmayoga: Union with God through action

Kirtan: Devotional music

Lilā: The divine play; the Relative

Mahāmāyā: The Great Illusionist; a name of Kālī

Mahānirvana: A standard book on Tantra philosophy

Narendra(nath): Swami Vivekananda, The Master’s chief disciple

Nyāya: Indian Logic; one of the six systems of orthodox Hindu philosophy, founded by Gautama

Paramahamsa: One belonging to the highest order of sannyāsis

Patanjala: One of six systems of Orthodox Hindu philosophy

Pāvhāri Bābā: An ascetic & yogi of great distinction

Purāna: Books of Hindu mythology

Rāga-bhakti: Supreme love, making one attached only to God

Rāmāyana: Famous Indian epic

Rishi: a seer of truth

Sādhaka: Aspirant devoted to practice of spiritual discipline

Sādhanā: Spiritual discipline

Sādhu: Holy man (monk)

Sāmkhya: One of six systems of Orthodox Hindu philosophy

Śankarāchārya: Great Indian philosopher

Śantih: Peace

Sat: Reality, Being

Satchidānanda: A name of Brahman

Swami: (Lit: Lord) Title of monks belonging to Vedanta school

Tapasyā: Religious austerity

Vedānta: (Lit: the conclusion or the essence of the Vedas) System of philosophy described mainly in the Upanishads, Bhagavad Gita & Brahma Sutras

Vedas: Most sacred scriptures of the Hindus

Viveka: Discrimination

Vyāsa: Compiler of Vedas

Yoga: Union of the individual soul and the Universal Soul; also the method by which to realize this union

Yogavāistha: Well-known book on Vedanta

Yuga: A cycle or world period. Hindu mythology: 4 yuga: Satya, Tretā, Dwāpara, Kali.