April 15, Monday:

Mentored 2.5 hours in the morning.

Practice in the evening (Heated Flow w/ Juliette)

14.5 hours to go!

Tomorrow:

Simultaneous practice and learning (Chadd, Ashtanga & heated flow)

In the evening: Iyengar @ Yoga House in Pasadena with Jamila (if she doesn’t flake).

April 16, Tuesday:

Jamila did flake. I called it!

Ashtanga (one hour — bleh) and heated flow (one hour), both with Chadd, this morning. Nice to practice.

April 17, Wednesday:

I did not like Dave’s class. Ugh.

I expected some intense Ashtanga practice. I got what amounted to a Beginning Ashtanga class. Exceedingly difficult to calm my mind and not become annoyed.

He did have some good cues and explanations re: proper technique. I did come away with one vitally important takeaway about opening the hips.

All the Standing Series postures help open your hips. I have not been maximizing the hip opening. This is particularly important for me because my tight hips are one of the things holding me back (along with my tight knees). Because it is uncomfortable for me to fully extend through the hips, I have been taking the easy way out wrt technique. This is a vicious cycle.

On the Warrior poses, Parivritta Parsvakonasana and Uttitha Parsvakonasana, as well as the Prasarita Padottanasana’s (the latter of which are the friggin’ bane of my  existence), my hips could be quite a bit more open.

It may be uncomfortable for a few weeks. But it will pay off.

April 18, Thursday:

Off

April 19, Friday:

Practice with Janus!

Oh the difference! The verve, vitality and space! The breath! The Sun! GLORIOUS PRACTICE!

That settles it: there is no one like Janus. Her practice is the best for me. No one else compares. It’s better than nothing, sure, but it’s not coming close to Janus.

I needed this so much. I brought my patented energy. But I am also incorporating Polina’s advice and attempting to match that yang with some yin. Not bringing too much. Attempting to integrate B. K. S. Iyengar’s beautiful words from The Tree of Yoga about feeling the entirety of the asana, meditation through the asana. Whole pointedness.

Obviously I have a long way to go as goes to that, but it really is the journey and not the destination. I have a long way to go in opening my hips and finding the comfort within the discomfort in the standing sequence, but it really is the journey and not the destination. I have a long way to go in achieving full lotus, but it really is the journey and not the destination. I have a long way to go in balancing on my sit bones, but it really is the journey and not the destination. I have a long way to go in keeping bandhas engaged throughout the practice, but it really is the journey and not the destination.

OH YEAH! YOGA! HOLLA AT CHA BOY!

April 20, Saturday:

Ashtanga classes canceled this weekend due to the Doug Swenson stuff. Bleh.

April 21, Sunday:

See above. I plan on practicing on my own this evening.

