November Review:

Consistency. Lots of consistency.

Goals for December:

Yoga:

Add 12 Primary Series postures.

StrongLifts:

One day a week:

Squats: 175 x 5
Deadlift: 175 x 1
Overhead: 110 x 1
Barbell Row: 140 x 5
Bench: 165 x 5

Same weights as November. Just want to keep up the consistency and focus primarily on yoga.

Biking/Running:

25 miles of bike riding a week;

One mile of running a week

Monday, December 1:

Yoga:

Surya Namaskara A & B, 5x (each)

Standing Sequence

Primary Series:

Dandasana; Paschimottanasana A, B, C

Purvottanasana; Ardha Baddha Padma Paschimottanasana; Trianga Mukhaipada Paschimottanasana

Janu Sirsasana A

Finishing Sequence

Added Janu Sirsasana A. I enjoy how this “phase” of the Primary Series focuses on knee flexibility. Today was a strong practice.

Tuesday, December 2:

Yoga:

Surya Namaskara A & B, 5x (each)

Standing Sequence

Primary Series:

Dandasana; Paschimottanasana A, B, C

Purvottanasana; Ardha Baddha Padma Paschimottanasana; Trianga Mukhaipada Paschimottanasana

Janu Sirsasana A

Finishing Sequence

Strong practice. Still have to push myself. But it’s worth it. Tomorrow: Janu Sirsasana B!

Wednesday, December 3:

Yoga:

Surya Namaskara A & B, 5x (each)

Standing Sequence

Primary Series:

Dandasana; Paschimottanasana A, B, C

Purvottanasana; Ardha Baddha Padma Paschimottanasana; Trianga Mukhaipada Paschimottanasana

Janu Sirsasana A, B

Finishing Sequence

Thursday, December 4:

Yoga:

Surya Namaskara A & B, 5x (each)

Standing Sequence

Primary Series:

Dandasana; Paschimottanasana A, B, C

Purvottanasana; Ardha Baddha Padma Paschimottanasana; Trianga Mukhaipada Paschimottanasana

Janu Sirsasana A, B

Finishing Sequence

We’ve almost made it. All I have to do is 5×5 StrongLifts today (Squats, Overhead Press, Deadlifts) and I’ve earned my day off.

Surya Namaskara A: Nine counts (x5)
Surya Namaskara B: Seventeen counts (x5)
Standing Sequence: Nineteen asanas
Primary Series: Thirty-one asanas
Finishing Sequence: Fifteen asanas

Total: 195.

I have 173 down, 22 Primary Series asanas to go. ETA: February 1. 58 days left. Let the countdown begin!

I have been working for over two years to get to this point, experiencing a countless array of setbacks. Setbacks that, if you knew about, would make you blush.

I’m almost there. I can taste it, smell it, see it. Nothing will stop me. Every single day (except for New and Full Moons, anyway, although in their own way — rest — they count just as much!) I get incrementally closer to my goal.

“When you are inspired by some great purpose, some extraordinary project, all your thoughts break their bounds. Your mind transcends limitations, your consciousness expands in every direction and you find yourself in a new, great and wonderful world. Dormant forces, faculties and talents become alive, and you discover yourself to be a greater person by far than you ever dreamed yourself to be.”

– Patanjali

StrongLifts:

Squats: 175 x 5

Overhead Press: 110 x 5

Deadlift: 175 x 1

Reverse Forearm Curls: 65 lb, 2 x 5
Wide-Armed Pull-ups: 1 x 5; 1 x 3
Wide-Armed Push-ups:
2 x 15
Chin-ups: 1 x 5; 1 x 3

Friday, December 5:

I thought today was a Full Moon! So disappointed when I learned it was not.

Decided to listen to my body and take it a bit easy.

Yoga:

Surya Namaskara A & B, 5x (each)

Padmasana

Soon I will get to the point where my “easy” days are the 30- or 45-minute routine Swenson lays out in the Practice Manual.

Also: I’ve certainly biked 25 miles this week. Just sayin’.

No run, however.

Saturday, December 6:

FULL MOON! OFF DAY!

Excited to get back to it tomorrow, too.

Sunday, December 7:

Yoga:

Surya Namaskara A & B, 5x (each)

Standing Sequence

Primary Series:

Dandasana; Paschimottanasana A, B, C

Purvottanasana; Ardha Baddha Padma Paschimottanasana; Trianga Mukhaipada Paschimottanasana

Janu Sirsasana A, B, C

Marichyasana A

Finishing Sequence

Monday, December 8:

None

Tuesday, December 9:

Biked to Upland and back. 12 miles total?

Wednesday, December 10:

I’m not sure what’s going on. It’s like I’ve inexplicably hit a wall. Things were going so great, too. I’m not sure why this keeps happening.

I’ll probably force myself to do Surya Namaskara. I’m going to take a mental break. Because I don’t know what’s going on. But I also don’t want to just stop. Just do Sun Salutations until you feel like doing more.

StrongLifts:

Squats: 175 x 5
Bench Press: 165 x 5
Barbell Row: 140 x 5

Reverse Forearm Curls: 65 lb, 2 x 5
Wide-Armed Pull-ups: 1 x 5; 1 x 3
Wide-Armed Push-ups:
2 x 15
Chin-ups: 1 x 5; 1 x 3

Thursday, December 11:

Yoga:

Surya Namaskara A & B, 5x (each)

Standing Sequence

Primary Series:

Dandasana; Paschimottanasana A, B, C

Purvottanasana; Ardha Baddha Padma Paschimottanasana; Trianga Mukhaipada Paschimottanasana

Janu Sirsasana A, B, C

Marichyasana A; B, C, D (modifications)

Finishing Sequence

I’ve partially made up for it by adding five poses within the past five days. Not bad.

I’ll keep this up for 2-5 days and then start adding more.

Biked around the city, then to Upland and back. Probably another 10-12 miles.

Friday, December 12 – Thursday, December 18:

One or two days I did some yoga — a little, not much. Probably one day.

Hit a wall, burned out, took a break, whatever you’d like to call it. Basically, I was not looking forward to yoga and decided I needed some time off to recharge my batteries.

Friday, December 19:

Yoga:

Surya Namaskara A & B, 5x (each)

Standing Sequence

Primary Series:

Dandasana; Paschimottanasana A, B, C

Purvottanasana; Ardha Baddha Padma Paschimottanasana; Trianga Mukhaipada Paschimottanasana

Janu Sirsasana A, B, C

Marichyasana A; B, C, D (modifications)

Finishing Sequence

And… we’re back.

Saturday, December 20:

Yoga:

Surya Namaskara A & B, 5x (each)

Standing Sequence (up to Prasarita Padottanasana D)

Finishing Sequence: Baddha Padmasana, Padmasana, Tolasana, Savasana

Had to take a big dump in the middle so cut it short. True story, el oh el.

Don’t feel all the way “back” yet anyway. Tomorrow is a New Moon. Planned to push myself today with yoga and StrongLifts, but I think instead I need to chill out a bit more, do what I can, and rev up towards the finish line when I catch my second wind.

So no StrongLifts this week. Probably not even next week. Instead I’ll talk to Garrett/Nathaniel and ask if they want to learn the Olympic lifts with me. Start from scratch there, practice those once a week. Focus everything else on yoga until I break through this wall.

New goal: practice up to Navasana. That’s just one more pose. So we’re really just gaining some consistency. Re-tool in January. Finish the entire Primary Series by March. Consistency for a month. Then go back to the studio. That’s the new plan. Incorporate more rest.

I got this.

Sunday, December 21:

New Moon in Capricorn / Winter Solstice

Monday, December 22 – Sunday, December 28:

Yoga:

Surya Namaskara A & B, 5x (each)

Finishing Sequence: Baddha Padmasana, Padmasana, Tolasana, Savasana

Still felt a bit burned out so I took it easy this week. No lifting either. Reset everything, give my body time to heal. Proud of myself because it’s been so hard, in the past, for me to take a break without completely falling off and sabotaging myself.

Tomorrow we’re back for sure. Up to Marichyasana D as well as the return of lifting. Bought some supplements, too. We’re gonna be doing big things!

Monday, December 29:

Yoga:

Surya Namaskara A & B, 5x (each)

Standing Sequence

Primary Series:

Dandasana; Paschimottanasana A, B, C

Purvottanasana; Ardha Baddha Padma Paschimottanasana; Trianga Mukhaipada Paschimottanasana

Janu Sirsasana A, B, C

Marichyasana A; B, C, D (modifications)

Finishing Sequence

Great first practice back!

Strong Lifts:

Snatch 5×5; Clean and Jerk 5×5 (45 lb)

I’m learning. I know I’m doing a lot wrong. Feels awful being a novice. These lifts are tough. But I’m committed to learning ’em.

Tuesday, December 30:

Yoga:

Surya Namaskara A & B, 5x (each)

Standing Sequence

Primary Series:

Dandasana; Paschimottanasana A, B, C

Purvottanasana; Ardha Baddha Padma Paschimottanasana; Trianga Mukhaipada Paschimottanasana

Janu Sirsasana A, B, C

Marichyasana A; B, C, D (modifications)

Finishing Sequence

I want to get stronger and fitter. Why am I so dissatisfied with myself? I’m doing great. It’s just not enough for me right now.

Wednesday, December 31:

Yoga:

Surya Namaskara A & B, 5x (each)

Standing Sequence

Primary Series:

Dandasana; Paschimottanasana A, B, C

Purvottanasana; Ardha Baddha Padma Paschimottanasana; Trianga Mukhaipada Paschimottanasana

Janu Sirsasana A, B, C

Marichyasana A; B, C, D (modifications)

Finishing Sequence

Strong practice.

