February Review

Nailed the yoga goal (add six asanas). Averaging five days a week of my more-or-less full practice. There are nine left, although that number is deceiving: four of them are all quite similar. The last one is one of my favorites. So this month I will add the final nine!

Since I have become accustomed to them by practicing them at the studio a few times a week, I am no longer intimidated by them. I’m actually looking forward to it.

Quitting lifting was an excellent decision. My body is no longer stiff! It feels perpetually primed for physical activity. I am in great shape!

Biking and running have become much more consistent. Twenty-five miles a week on the bike has become easy. A couple of miles a week running. I could do a lot more; looking forward to the opportunity. Nathaniel still can’t do more than a mile comfortably. I could probably do 2-3 fairly comfortably; a mile doesn’t tire me at all anymore. It just feels good to run it!

March Goals:

Practice the entire Primary Series.

Bike at least 25 miles a week.

Run with Nathaniel at least once a week.

Begin working out with Gildardo.

Simple goals!

Sunday, March 1:

Yoga:

None.

Spontaneous off day.

Physically my practice is excellent. Mentally I’m a bit tired.

Monday, March 2:

It’s 3:24 PM and I still haven’t done yoga. Not sure if I will. I don’t feel compelled to, and I say that in a good way. A short break could be exactly what I need right now. I don’t feel so OCD/ADD when I miss a practice. Anxiety about taking a day off has decreased. Now I feel like I can listen to my body/mind more effectively as to when I should or should not push myself.

Ran a mile with Nathaniel. Good times.

Tuesday, March 3:

Yoga:

1 hour 15 minute practice of Primary Series with Janus.

Not feeling it. Have not been feeling yoga in quite some time.

I biked ~22 miles.

Wednesday, March 4:

Yoga:

None.

Thursday, March 5:

Full Moon!

Friday, March 6:

Yoga:

Surya Namaskara A & B, 5x (each)

Baddha Padmasana, Padmasana, Tolasana

Savasana

Planned to do my normal practice. But I am so tight right now. Wow. Not feeling it. I’m going to ease back into things this week, I guess.

Tomorrow: Sun Salutations + full Primary Series practice with Janus.

Sunday: Sun Salutations + full practice with Polina.

Monday: Full practice by myself, up to Upavishta Konasana A & B.

And then we’ll be back.

The Sun Salutations today were pretty good. Nice and sweaty. I feel much better. I woke up at 5:40 AM. I’m getting up at 6 AM every day from now on. No excuses.

This is a huge month from me. No more “not feeling like doing yoga” as an excuse. We’re getting back on track. You’ve had a pretty chill 10 days, Adam. You’ve averaged, like, 3 days of yoga a week. Maybe four. I’m not sure; I’m not going to go back to count, ‘cuz I’m feeling a little guilty.

But until the next New & Full Moon, you are practicing every day. Six and a half days a week. Sun Salutations at the least. No excuses. NONE! Up at 6 AM! Practice by 6:30 – 7! You need this! Let’s do it!

Biked to and from school yesterday. So about 40 miles this week on the bike.

Saturday, March 7:

7:30 AM:

Yoga:

Surya Namaskara A & B, 5x (each)

Baddha Padmasana, Padmasana, Tolasana

Savasana

9:30 AM:

Yoga:

Full Primary Series w/ Janus

Sunday, March 8:

9:00 AM:

Full Primary Series @ ATY.

Polina is a joke. She misses class all the time. No more. I’m going to Juliette’s Mysore or nothing at all from ATY.

I’m already planning on finishing my teacher training elsewhere. I’ll consider it a bonus if ATY works out. For now, the next two months are all about my personal practice. One month to finish, the next month to practice it consistently.

Monday, March 9:

None

I’m pretty sure I didn’t do yoga this day. It feels so long ago. But why wouldn’t I do it? Umm… Oh yeah, I didn’t do it. I didn’t get to sleep ’til 3:30 AM. So I procrastinated and then I never did it.

Tuesday, March 10:

Yoga:

Personal practice up to Janu Sirsasana A (AM)

75 minute practice with Janus (PM)

Doubled up today to make up for yesterday. Morning practice was eh, evening one was excellent. Also biked to and from school.

Wednesday, March 11:

Yoga:

Mysore practice with Juliette, up to Supta Padangusthasana B

Awesome! Will be here every M and W. 6:30 AM.

Thursday, March 12:

Yoga:

Surya Namaskara A & B, 5x (each)

Standing Sequence

Primary Series:

Dandasana; Paschimottanasana A, B, C

Purvottanasana; Ardha Baddha Padma Paschimottanasana; Trianga Mukhaipada Paschimottanasana

Janu Sirsasana A, B, C

Marichyasana A; B, C, D (modifications)

Finishing Sequence

I think… Pretty sure.

Friday, March 13:

Yoga:

Surya Namaskara A & B, 5x (each)

Standing Sequence

Primary Series:

Dandasana; Paschimottanasana A, B, C

Purvottanasana; Ardha Baddha Padma Paschimottanasana; Trianga Mukhaipada Paschimottanasana

Janu Sirsasana A, B, C

Marichyasana A; B, C, D (modifications)

Navasana (x5) (including handstands), Bhujapidasana

Kurmasana, Supta Kurmasana, Garbha Pindasana, Kukkutasana

Baddha Konasana A & B

Upavishta Konasana A & B; Supta Konasana; Supta Padangusthasana A & B

Finishing Sequence

Lookie here! We did it! New poses added!

It wasn’t easy; I planned to quit after Marichyasana D again. But I kept going.

Personal practice has been tough the past 2 and a half weeks. Why? I don’t know. But it has.

Gotta push through it.

This week, Monday aside, has been good. Up bright and early. Practicing promptly. This AM was 6:45.

Saturday, March 14:

Yoga:

Full Primary Series w/ Janus

Sunday, March 15:

None

Slept ~3.5 hours after the concert. Could’ve done Sun Salutations in the AM… Should’ve. I didn’t, and then was busy from 11 AM on. My loss.

Monday, March 16:

Mysore:

Surya Namaskara A & B, 5x (each)

Standing Sequence

Primary Series:

Dandasana; Paschimottanasana A, B, C

Purvottanasana; Ardha Baddha Padma Paschimottanasana; Trianga Mukhaipada Paschimottanasana

Janu Sirsasana A, B, C

Marichyasana A; B, C, D (modifications)

Navasana (x5) (including handstands), Bhujapidasana

Kurmasana, Supta Kurmasana, Garbha Pindasana, Kukkutasana

Baddha Konasana A & B

Upavishta Konasana A & B; Supta Konasana; Supta Padangusthasana A & B

Finishing Sequence

Six-mile hike with Gil Toledo.

One mile run with Nathaniel.

Tuesday, March 17:

Yoga:

Sun Salutations

Brother here, throwing me off my routine. Excuses, yes. Practiced at 3:15 PM. May go to the studio this evening.

I feel like I’ve been slipping on yoga a bit the past month. But when I look back, it hasn’t been that bad. Love yourself, Adam.

I am determined to, by the end of the month, regain control of my personal practice. 6:30 AM every day, six days a week, practicing up to Supta Padangusthasana B.

New Moon is on the 20th. So from the 21st to the 31st, 10 consecutive days, we’re gonna be on it!

