June Review:

Alright. Decent. Mediocre. Had its moments. Working out the kinks. Progress marred by inconsistency and ego.

July Goals:

No more fucking around. Discipline, discipline, discipline.

  • Two days a week of Mysore at Addicted to Yoga
  • Three days a week of David Swenson’s 1-hour short form
  • One day a week of some form of practice, whatever I’d like: a short form, a complete practice, a studio day, or just Sun Salutations.
  • First thing in the AM: wake, brush teeth, consume supplements, practice.

Thursday, July 23:

Feel embarrassed at my inability to keep this up.

Sobriety for 11 months as of Tuesday!

Melinda and I have been fighting. One nasty fight where I called the cops. Not too nasty, but yeah. Never call the cops. They don’t do anything. And they’ll certainly treat the Black man as if he must be proven innocent.

We’ve made up. We have to work this out. This is our situation.

We love each other very much. I want to marry her. We’ll get through this. Work has been stressful but is beginning to improve.

The house to ourselves for a month. Mom in New Jersey.

Lifted yesterday. Gil and Melinda. Registered for school last week — three classes. What else?

Monday, July 13:

Food poisoning.

But that’s not the whole story. Friday? I don’t think I did anything. Saturday? One hour. Sunday, Monday: none.

Food poisoning Saturday. Barfing three days in a row, including today.

But something feels off…

Thursday, July 9:

One day at a time, baby.

One hour personal practice this morning. 8:30 AM start time. 45-minute Swenson short form. It was a good practice. Tight at first. The lifting is beginning to affect me. A little stiff. But not too stiff. Was very tired. Powered through it.

Tomorrow: 90-minute practice with Janus.

Let’s a go!

Wednesday, July 8:

I dunno what’s going on.

Yesterday: none. Today: it’s 8PM and I haven’t started. Will do an hour after this. Missed morning Mysore.

Monday: One hour.

Sunday and Saturday: off.

Let’s get back on track.

Friday, July 3:

90-minute Ashtanga practice with Janus at Yellow Yoga!

We did the entire Primary Series, but it was rushed towards the end.

She just came back from a two-week intensive with Tim Miller and had a number of nifty adjustments. Incredible practice, although her pacing was off by quite a bit.

Yoga practice has become more challenging. I have been learning a lot recently. My downward dog, for instance, has been completely rehauled. Much longer. My feet were far too wide. It’s extremely strenuous now.

I eschewed downward dog before Virabhadrasana B in Surya Namaskara B until Alex at Ashtanga Seattle corrected me, too. Now Surya Namaskara is significantly more challenging.

Acupuncture is truly helping my practice in ways I never fathomed. My head easily touches the ground in Prasarita A and D now. Maybe six to eight months ago my head was touching the ground, for a month or three. Then, for whatever reason, it wasn’t. Now it is, more easily than it ever had before.

Why? I believe it’s due to energy blockages being cleared up. It’s permeating my entire life, too, not just yoga.

David Swenson has a workshop in Dana Point October 18. Kino MacGregor in Orange County on the 28th of October, I believe. Five-day intensive. $750.

No price point on the Swenson one. I may go to both. I am certainly going to Kino’s.

Thursday, July 2:

One-hour short form:

Surya Namaskara A & B, 5x

Standing Sequence:

Padangusthasana

Uttita Trikonasana

Utthita Parsvakonasana

Prasarita Padottanasana A, C

Uttita Hasta Padangusthasana A

Ardha Baddha Padmottanasana

Utkatasana, Virabhadrasana A & B

Primary Series:

Dandasana, Paschimottanasana A

Ardha Baddha Padma Paschimottanasana

Janu Sirsasana A

Marichyasana A, C

Navasana (x3) (not including handstands)

Baddha Konasana A & B

Upavishta Konasana A

Finishing Sequence:

Urdhva Dhanurasana x3; Paschimottanasana B (10 breaths)

Sarvangasana (10 breaths)

Halasana, Karnapindasana

Urdhva Padmasana, Pindasana

Matsyasana, Uttana Padasana

Sirsasana A (10 breaths), Sirsasana B (5 breaths)

Baddha Padmasana, Padmasana, Tolasana (5 breaths)

Savasana

The practice is growing! This was challenging at first, but then it was fun. The Sun Salutations are still the most challenging part of the practice. Not sure what time this was, but it certainly… wait, it was about 9:15 AM.

Wednesday, July 1:

Moon Day: Full Moon in Capricorn!

