7 May 1930

Through the extension of consciousness, the predomination of the unconscious becomes depotentiated. The one conscious function detaches an auxiliary function from the trinity of the hitherto unconscious functions, and by the aid of this auxiliary function, the conscious is enabled to acquire a new standpoint over against the one function that is conscious.

From this standpoint man is like a mirror, in which he can reflect the picture of his former consciousness. It means that we are now capable of saying: I see myself as this inferior, unfree and foolish being, and I am also the function and I am another function also, that can look at this prostrate figure as if I were a god.

We have acquired the divine quality of being able to look at ourselves, which the primitive man cannot do, we have acquired a second observer. The primitive man has only eyes to see the object, he has nothing behind his eyes. But we have acquired a mirror in ourselves which says: that is yourself, and in saying that we have a superior point of view. I look down upon myself as if I were a god, as if I were superior, and I am superior, that is my superiority.

And if I acquire another function I have two mirrors and can say: I see that miserable figure and I see the man who observes that figure; that is function No. 3. And if I acquire a third function I say: I see that man, who sees that man, who sees that miserable human being; and that is completion, that is the No. 4. That would be the acquisition of the complete divinity of man, namely, a complete self-criticism through man himself.

Therefore Schopenhauer quite truly says: the only divine quality that I attribute to man is his sense of humour.

