The Sun
Sun_symbol

Rules:

Spirit, Physical Force, Life Force, Character

Reveals:

The Father, Males in General, The Masculine Side of Woman

“I represent the life force and the physical body, and I am at the center of everybody’s chart. The dot is to remind you to keep yourself centered.”

The Moon
moon symbol

Rules:

Emotions, Empathy, Receptivity in Subconscious Needs

Reveals:

The Mother, Women in General, The Feminine Side of Man

“I represent emotional needs. I am changeable. Sometimes I have more needs than at other times. I am drawn like a crescent, but in a chart I can be a sliver or a full Moon, depending on how much attention I need.”

Mercury
Mercury_symbol.

Rules:

Mental Activity, Intelligence, Reasoning & Communication

Reveals:

Short Journeys, Brothers and Sisters, Studies

“I represent the thoughts, phrases, and sounds of the way you speak.”

Venus
VENUS

Rules:

Love, Marriage, Attraction

Reveals:

Our Capacity for Love, Beauty & Harmony

“I represent the colors, sound, music, and varieties of love. I also am there to provide you with smooth sailing through the stormy seas of life. I bring beauty and blessing.”

Mars

mars

Rules:

Energy, Physical Stamina, Motivation

Reveals:

How We Act Out, Our Sexual Impulses, Passion and Challenges, Sexual Expression in Men

“I represent your physical energy, how you act and react.”

Jupiter
Jupiter_symbol.svg

Rules:

Benefits, Good Fortune, Expansive Ideas, Social Adaptation

Reveals:

Personal Ethics, Philosophies, Personal Growth

“I represent the promise of all good things. I am your good luck charm.”

Saturn
Saturn_symbol.svg

Rules:

Careers, Philosophies, Personal Growth, Public Recognition

Reveals:

Sense of Responsibility, Loyalties, Commitment to Family, Stability

“Limitations, structure, authority, discipline, boundary, striving, responsibilities, depression, stability.”

Uranus
50px-Uranus's_astrological_symbol.svg

Rules:

Ability to experiment, Innovate and Change; Sudden and Unexpected

Reveals:

Our Reckless Side, Where We Seek Our Thrills, Our Eccentricities

“I represent the planet of change. I come in and make electrifying, sweeping changes. I am always unplanned and uninvited. But I am not unpleasant unless you try to totally resist me.”

Neptune
Neptune_symbol.svg

Rules:

Illusions, Imagination, Vision, Misconceptions, and Fantasies

Reveals:

Romantic Side, Romantic Fantasies, Where We Can Be Deceived, Where We Like to Escape

“I am the planet of deception. Sometimes I bring confusion and mix-ups. Sometimes I tell lies or try to trick you. I can bring dreams and illusions. Everybody needs me for a little magic sometimes. I am rose-colored glasses.”

Pluto
50px-Pluto's_astrological_symbol.svg

Rules:

Transformation, Our Ability to Reinvent Ourselves, Subconscious Drives and Forces, Change

Reveals:

Rejuvenation, Crisis, Beginnings and Endings

“I am here to change your life. Wherever I land in your chart is what I tear down to rebuild. I am here for your ultimate good–if you will not resist my energies. I am the planet of life and death, of the new you and the old you. I repair and resurrect. I cause you to reinvent yourself every nw and then.”

Excerpted from Linda Goodman’s Relationship Signs. Copyright 1998 by Golden Mountain Investments. A Bantam Book.

